Alberta Transportation and Economic Corridors
Getting a driver licence in Alberta
Free to use. No account, no payment, and nothing behind a paywall.

What Alberta Transportation and Economic Corridors publishes
- Fee
- The registry agent sets the total, made up of its regulated service charge plus any government fee.
- Retake fee
- Not stated in the record we hold
- Minimum age
- 14
- Hold on the Class 7
- 12 months
For the Class 7 learner's test
To sit the Class 7 learner's test
Before the next stage opens
Start here
125 questions written for Alberta
StartCar: practice with answers
125 questions, 65 of them on signs
StartMotorcycle: practice with answers
60 questions, 20 of them on signs
StartTruck: practice with answers
60 questions, 20 of them on signs
StartTaxi and passenger transport: practice with answers
46 questions, 15 of them on signs
The full format
4 tests on this page
Car
125 practice questions written for this class
StartClass 7 learner's test simulation
30 questions
ViewAlberta learner's test for Class 7
30 questions
Motorcycle
60 practice questions written for this class
StartClass 6 knowledge test simulation
30 questions
ViewAlberta Class 6 motorcycle knowledge test
30 questions
Truck
60 practice questions written for this class
StartCommercial knowledge test simulation
30 questions
ViewAlberta commercial knowledge test for Class 1, 2 and 3
30 questions
Taxi and passenger transport
46 practice questions written for this class
StartClass 4 knowledge test simulation
30 questions
ViewAlberta Class 4 knowledge test
30 questions
Road signs and the subjects behind them
65 sign questions in our bank
StartAlberta signs drill
65 sign questions
How signs are scored on the Class 7 learner's test
What is scored apart, and what is mixed in
All 41 signs, grouped by category
General Canadian sign practice
One subject at a time
The number beside a subject is how many questions we have written on it for Alberta. A subject appears once there are enough of them to be worth sitting down with.

Road signs
65 questions

Right of way
6 questions

Intersections and turns
6 questions

Speed and following distance
6 questions

Passing and lanes
6 questions

Parking and stopping
5 questions

Sharing the road
6 questions

Impaired and distracted driving
5 questions

Licensing and the graduated system
6 questions

Emergencies and breakdowns
5 questions

Weather and night driving
5 questions
The licence journey in Alberta
Each stage has to be held before the next one opens, so the order below is also the timetable. Alberta Transportation and Economic Corridors sets every hold period on it.
Alberta starts younger than anywhere else in the country, and it tests through private registry agents rather than through one government office, so the counter you walk up to is a local business with its own hours and its own service charge. Our practice simulation can end before the last question. The rules that catch visitors out are the zone signs, which run on times a municipality sets, and the winter, which is longer and colder than most of the country plans for. These notes cover what is different about learning to drive in Alberta.
Class 7, Class 7 learner's licence
Hold the learner licence for at least 12 months before taking the Class 5 road test.
Held for 12 months
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licenceverified 2026-09-15Class 5 GDL, Class 5 probationary licence
Complete 24 months of probationary driving. Approved Class 5 or Class 6 driver training can reduce this by up to 6 months.
Held for 24 months18 months with approved driver education
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licenceverified 2026-09-15Class 5, Full, non-GDL Class 5 licence
You must be at least 18, complete the probationary period, and have no suspensions or demerits in the final 12 months. An advanced road test is no longer required. The full path takes at least 3 years.
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licenceverified 2026-09-15
The reading behind the Alberta questions
11 lessons on the rules everyone is tested on, each one ending with the Alberta note that changes the answer. The count beside a lesson is how many of our questions sit on it.
Right of way: who goes first, and why
6 questions, drill available
Intersections and turns
6 questions, drill available
Speed and following distance
6 questions, drill available
Lanes, passing and merging
6 questions, drill available
Parking and stopping
5 questions, drill available
Sharing the road
6 questions, drill available
Impaired and distracted driving
5 questions, drill available
Weather, winter and driving at night
5 questions, drill available
Emergencies and breakdowns
5 questions, drill available
Graduated licensing: how the system works
6 questions, drill available
Documents, penalties and your driving record
4 questions
Guides for Alberta
Longer answers to the questions that come before and after a test, written the same way as the rest of the site.
Common questions
What people ask about testing in Alberta, answered with the source underneath.
How many questions are on the Alberta Class 7 test?
There are 30 multiple-choice questions. Pass means 25 correct, which works out at 83 percent.
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-09-15How many mistakes can you make on the Class 7 test?
You can miss 5 and still reach the required 25 correct answers out of 30.
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-09-15Can I take the Alberta knowledge test online?
No. Take it in person at an Alberta registry agent office.
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-09-15What does the Class 7 knowledge test cost?
The registry agent sets the total. It combines the regulated agent service charge with any government fee.
Government of Alberta, Registry Service Charges Regulationverified 2026-09-15How old do you have to be to start driving in Alberta?
You must be at least 14 to sit the Class 7 knowledge test.
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licenceverified 2026-09-15What are the Alberta licence stages?
Start with Class 7, move to the probationary Class 5 after the road test, then qualify for a full non-GDL Class 5. An advanced road test is no longer required.
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licenceverified 2026-09-15Which languages are offered for the Alberta Class 7 test?
The computer test is offered in 25 languages. Audio options are available, while oral tests are conducted in English only.
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-09-15Sources for this page
Every number above comes from one of these records. The date is when we last checked the figure against it.
Government of Alberta, Get a driver's licence
Verified 2026-09-15
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge test
Verified 2026-09-15
Government of Alberta, Get a Class 6 motorcycle driver licence
Verified 2026-08-28
Question count and pass mark read from the Alberta driver knowledge test page on the same date.
Government of Alberta, Obtaining a commercial licence
Verified 2026-08-28
Question count and pass mark read from the Alberta driver knowledge test page on the same date, and the ride for hire rule from the Alberta ride for hire services page.
Government of Alberta, Class 7 learner's licence
Verified 2026-09-15
Government of Alberta, Registry Service Charges Regulation
Verified 2026-09-15
Current as of July 2, 2026. The regulation limits the registry agent service charge and does not state one total customer price.
Government of Alberta, Class 5 driver's licence
Verified 2026-09-15
