DriveTest Canada
  • Checked against Government of Alberta on 2026-08-28
  • 60 questions written here, every one with its citation

Alberta commercial knowledge test for Class 1, 2 and 3

Commercial knowledge test at a glance

Question count
30
Pass mark
25 of 30 correct
Fee
Set by the registry agent you book with. Alberta publishes a maximum rather than one provincial price.
Retake fee
Not stated in the record we hold
Minimum age
Not stated in the record we hold
Where it is taken
At a licensing office or testing centre
Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-08-28

The format above is the one Government of Alberta sets, and it is on the page before anything else, because the numbers are what you plan around. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.

  • Thirty multiple choice questions, and 25 correct to pass, the same shape as every other Alberta knowledge test.
  • One test covers Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3.
  • It is not split into parts that pass on their own.
  • You can sit it once a day, and you pay for it every time.
  • The air brake Q endorsement is a knowledge test of its own in Alberta.
An unmarked tractor trailer in profile from a low angle on a prairie highway shoulder at first light, casting a long shadow across the road.
  • 60 questions written for the Commercial knowledge test, each with the authority it rests on
  • Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
  • Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back

The real test is 30 questions. Nothing here is timed unless the real exam is timed, and nothing is held back except the answers the real exam holds back too.

One question from the bank, in full

The question, the answer marked, the reason it is the answer, and the authority it rests on. Nothing is held back on this page and nothing is held back in a run.

AlbertaRules of the road

You are joining a divided highway from an on ramp with a loaded trailer, and the traffic in the right lane is moving at highway speed.

  1. Stop at the end of the ramp and wait for a gap you can pull out into
  2. Build what speed you can on the ramp and pick a gap far bigger than a car would need, because you accelerate slowly
  3. Move out as soon as you reach the end of the ramp, since the traffic on the highway has to let you in
  4. Drive along the shoulder past the merge until a gap appears

The answer is B

The traffic already on the highway has the right of way, so joining it is your problem to solve rather than theirs. A loaded vehicle takes far longer to reach highway speed than a car, which means the gap you need is longer than the one that looks about right from the driving seat. Stopping at the end of the ramp is worse again, because you then start the whole acceleration from nothing with traffic arriving behind you.

Alberta Driver's Guide (Government of Alberta)

How the Commercial knowledge test passes

The real test is 30 questions.

You pass with 25 correct answers out of 30.

Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.

The whole testYou need 25 of 30 correct

Pass mark

Government of Alberta, Driver knowledge testverified 2026-08-28

Questions people ask about this test

Does the Alberta knowledge test end early?

It does, in both directions. Reach 25 correct answers and the kiosk stops there and passes you. Reach 6 wrong answers and it stops there and fails you. Either way you may never see all 30 questions.

Government of Alberta published Class 7 licensing and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What does the Class 7 knowledge test cost?

About $17. Registry agents are private businesses and set their own service charge, so the exact amount moves a little from one office to the next.

Government of Alberta published Class 7 licensing and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
How old do you have to be to start driving in Alberta?

Fourteen. That is the earliest start of any province or territory in Canada, and it is the age at which you can sit the Class 7 knowledge test.

Government of Alberta published Class 7 licensing and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
Where do the Alberta practice questions here come from?

Alberta publishes its Driver's Guide under an open licence that allows commercial reuse with attribution, so our Alberta questions are written from the current edition of the guide and cite it directly.

Alberta Driver's Guide to Operation, Safety and Licensing, open.alberta.ca, May 2026 editionverified 2026-08-27

Sources for this page

Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.

  • Government of Alberta published Class 7 licensing and knowledge test information

    Verified 2026-08-27

  • Alberta Driver's Guide to Operation, Safety and Licensing, open.alberta.ca, May 2026 edition

    Verified 2026-08-27

    Published under the Open Government Licence for Alberta, which permits commercial reuse with attribution.