DriveTest Canada
  • Checked against Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) on 2026-09-15
  • 108 questions written here, every one with its citation

SAAQ knowledge test

SAAQ knowledge test at a glance

Question count
Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) publishes no count
SAAQ, Obtaining a Driver's Licence for a Passenger Vehicle (Class 5)verified 2026-09-15
Fee
$13.50 for the knowledge test
Retake fee
Not stated in the record we hold
Minimum age
Not stated in the record we hold
Where it is taken
At a licensing office or testing centre
SAAQ, Obtaining a Driver's Licence for a Passenger Vehicle (Class 5)verified 2026-09-15

The SAAQ knowledge test has 75% in each of 3 sections, and Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) publishes no question count. The listed fee is $13.50 for the knowledge test. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.

  • You can only sit it after holding a valid learner licence for at least 10 months on the test date.
  • It is all multiple choice, in three sections: the Highway Safety Code; road signs, pavement markings and traffic signals; and behaviours and techniques for driving a passenger vehicle.
  • You need 75 percent on each of the three sections, not one combined score, and a failed test means waiting at least 28 days before you can try again.
  • The mandatory driving course comes first. Without it you do not reach the test at all.
  • The SAAQ publishes no question count, so we do not state one. It says the test takes between 30 and 60 minutes.
A plain compact hatchback carrying no badges, stopped at a painted stop line on a wet suburban road, seen low and from behind with the crossing road empty.
  • 108 questions written for the SAAQ knowledge test, each with the authority it rests on
  • Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
  • Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back

Nothing here is timed unless the real exam is timed, and nothing is held back except the answers the real exam holds back too.

One question from the bank, in full

The question, the answer marked, the reason it is the answer, and the authority it rests on. Nothing is held back on this page and nothing is held back in a run.

QuebecRules of the road

You and another driver reach a four way stop at the same moment. The other car is directly to your right and both of you are going straight ahead.

  1. You go first, because a driver going straight has priority over one on a side street
  2. The driver on your right goes first
  3. You go first, because the vehicle on the busier street goes first
  4. Neither of you has priority, so creep forward until one of you gives way

The answer is B

At a four way stop the order is set by who stopped first. When two drivers stop at the same instant the tie is broken in favour of the vehicle on the right, so the driver beside you goes first. A fixed rule matters here because two drivers guessing at each other is exactly how these collisions happen.

Highway Safety Code (Quebec)

How the SAAQ knowledge test passes

The authority publishes 3 sections.

The published pass rule is 75% in each of 3 sections.

Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.

What Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish

These are the fields the licensing body leaves out. They stay blank here rather than being filled with another province's number or with an estimate.

  • No published figure for the question count.

A run built on a missing length draws the whole bank instead of guessing at one, and the panel before the first question says so.

Questions people ask about this test

When can I take the SAAQ knowledge test?

After you have held your learner licence for 10 months. The wait is part of the design, not a booking backlog, so there is no way to bring it forward.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What does the SAAQ knowledge test cost?

About $11.20, the smallest knowledge test fee among the four provinces we cover in depth.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
How is the SAAQ exam scored?

By section. The exam is divided into parts and each part has its own pass requirement, so clearing the exam means clearing every section rather than reaching one overall total.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What happens if I fail a section of the SAAQ exam?

You wait 28 days before you can take that section again. Planning matters here more than in any other province, because a single weak section costs you a month.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
Why does Quebec take longer than other provinces?

Two rules stack up. The mandatory course sets the pace at the start, and the knowledge test only opens 10 months into the learner licence. Newcomers who were licensed elsewhere in Canada are often surprised by both.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27

Sources for this page

Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.