DriveTest Canada
  • Checked against Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) on 2026-08-28
  • 46 questions written here, every one with its citation

Quebec authorized driver exam for paid passenger transport

Authorized driver exam at a glance

Question count
Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) publishes no count
Not published by the licensing body
Pass mark
Not published as a number of questions
Not published by the licensing body
Fee
Set by the training centre that runs the course and the exam, not by the SAAQ
Retake fee
Not stated in the record we hold
Minimum age
Not stated in the record we hold
Where it is taken
At a licensing office or testing centre
SAAQ, Taxi and Automobile Treated as a Taxiverified 2026-08-28

The format above is the one Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) sets, and it is on the page before anything else, because the numbers are what you plan around. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.

  • Quebec no longer has a taxi licence class of its own. Driving a taxi, or a car treated as one, takes two documents: a Class 5 licence or higher, and an authorized driver permit from the SAAQ.
  • The exam that leads to the permit is set and marked by one of the training centres the SAAQ recognizes rather than by the SAAQ, so no question count, pass mark, fee or retake rule is published for it.
  • You need 12 months or more of driving on a Class 5 licence or higher, and time on a probationary licence does not count towards it.
  • You have to understand, speak and read French.
  • A certificate showing no criminal record is part of the file, and it has to come from a municipal police service or the Surete du Quebec rather than a private firm or the RCMP.
  • A licence carrying condition I, X or Y rules you out, and so does a sanction in the last 12 months or one in force when you apply.
  • Class 1, 2, 3, 4A and 4B all count as a licence higher than Class 5 for this, so any of them works as the driving licence half of the pair.
A plain sedan with an unmarked roof light waiting at a city curb in winter, seen from across a quiet intersection with apartment blocks in silhouette behind it.
  • 46 questions written for the Authorized driver exam, each with the authority it rests on
  • Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
  • Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back

Nothing here is timed unless the real exam is timed, and nothing is held back except the answers the real exam holds back too.

One question from the bank, in full

The question, the answer marked, the reason it is the answer, and the authority it rests on. Nothing is held back on this page and nothing is held back in a run.

QuebecRules of the road

You are waiting at a taxi stand when a passenger waves urgently from farther along the sidewalk. Traffic is moving beside you. How should you pull out to collect them?

  1. Signal, wait for a safe gap, and yield to traffic already in the lane
  2. Signal and move out because an available passenger gives a taxi priority
  3. Edge into the lane until another driver slows to let you in
  4. Use the horn, then pull out before the nearest vehicle reaches you

The answer is A

You must yield to vehicles already using the traffic lane when you pull away from a taxi stand or any other curb. Those drivers may be too close to slow safely when your taxi starts moving into their path. A waiting passenger and an active turn signal show your intention, but neither gives you the right of way.

Highway Safety Code (Quebec)

How the Authorized driver exam passes

Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish a question count or a pass mark for the Authorized driver exam, so there is no threshold to draw here. What it does publish is on the page above.

Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.

What Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish

These are the fields the licensing body leaves out. They stay blank here rather than being filled with another province's number or with an estimate.

  • No published figure for the question count.
  • No published figure for the pass mark.

A run built on a missing length draws the whole bank instead of guessing at one, and the panel before the first question says so.

Questions people ask about this test

When can I take the SAAQ knowledge test?

After you have held your learner licence for 10 months. The wait is part of the design, not a booking backlog, so there is no way to bring it forward.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What does the SAAQ knowledge test cost?

About $11.20, the smallest knowledge test fee among the four provinces we cover in depth.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
Why does Quebec take longer than other provinces?

Two rules stack up. The mandatory course sets the pace at the start, and the knowledge test only opens 10 months into the learner licence. Newcomers who were licensed elsewhere in Canada are often surprised by both.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27

Sources for this page

Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.

  • SAAQ, Taxi and Automobile Treated as a Taxi

    Verified 2026-08-28

    Read through an Internet Archive copy of the SAAQ page captured on 2026-08-13, because the SAAQ turns away visitors from outside Canada. The French page is cited because it is the version the SAAQ updates first.

  • SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test information

    Verified 2026-08-27