DriveTest Canada
  • Checked against Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) on 2026-08-28
  • Every figure below names the record it came from

SAAQ Class 4B minibus and small bus knowledge test

Class 4B knowledge test at a glance

Question count
30
Pass mark
22 of 30 correct
Fee
$13.50 for the knowledge test, plus $18.50 to add the class to your licence
Retake fee
Not stated in the record we hold
Minimum age
Not stated in the record we hold
Where it is taken
At a licensing office or testing centre
SAAQ, Minibuses and Small Buses With a Seating Capacity of 24 or Fewer Passengers (Class 4B)verified 2026-08-28

The format above is the one Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) sets, and it is on the page before anything else, because the numbers are what you plan around. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.

  • Thirty questions on specialized driving techniques, and 22 correct to pass. It is the one Quebec knowledge test outside the car test where the SAAQ publishes both numbers.
  • Class 4B covers a minibus or a bus built for 24 passengers or fewer, and it carries the car, moped and farm tractor classes with it.
  • You need a Class 5 licence or probationary licence held for at least 12 months, plus a medical report and a vision test cleared first.
  • Fail and you wait at least seven days, then book again and pay the fee again.
  • The SAAQ says to allow about an hour.
  • School transport with a minibus needs a certificate of competence as well.
A plain sedan with an unmarked roof light waiting at a city curb in winter, seen from across a quiet intersection with apartment blocks in silhouette behind it.
  • Every figure on this page is traced to Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ)
  • Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
  • Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back

Practice for this test is still being written. The format above is the real one.

What the questions cover

Every Quebec question sits under one subject, and the number beside it is how many we hold. The reading column goes to the lesson behind the subject.

SubjectQuestionsReading
Road signs15The lesson behind it
Sharing the road7The lesson behind it
Parking and stopping6The lesson behind it
Emergencies and breakdowns4The lesson behind it
Impaired and distracted driving3The lesson behind it
Intersections and turns2The lesson behind it
Speed and following distance2The lesson behind it
Licensing and the graduated system2The lesson behind it
Weather and night driving2The lesson behind it
Documents, fines and demerit points2The lesson behind it
Right of way1The lesson behind it

How the Class 4B knowledge test passes

The real test is 30 questions.

You pass with 22 correct answers out of 30.

Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.

Questions people ask about this test

When can I take the SAAQ knowledge test?

After you have held your learner licence for 10 months. The wait is part of the design, not a booking backlog, so there is no way to bring it forward.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What does the SAAQ knowledge test cost?

About $11.20, the smallest knowledge test fee among the four provinces we cover in depth.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
Why does Quebec take longer than other provinces?

Two rules stack up. The mandatory course sets the pace at the start, and the knowledge test only opens 10 months into the learner licence. Newcomers who were licensed elsewhere in Canada are often surprised by both.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27

Sources for this page

Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.