- Checked against Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) on 2026-08-28
- Every figure below names the record it came from
SAAQ Class 3 truck knowledge test
Class 3 knowledge test at a glance
- Question count
- Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) publishes no count Not published by the licensing body
- Pass mark
- Not published as a number of questions Not published by the licensing body
- Fee
- $13.50 for the knowledge test, plus $88.35 for the 18 month learner licence
- Retake fee
- Not stated in the record we hold
- Minimum age
- Not stated in the record we hold
- Where it is taken
- At a licensing office or testing centre
The format above is the one Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) sets, and it is on the page before anything else, because the numbers are what you plan around. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.
- Class 3 is the straight body truck class, the one below a tractor trailer.
- Seventy five percent to pass, no published question count, and about an hour to sit it.
- The questions cover traffic rules, handling a heavy vehicle, reversing, circle check standards, hours of driving and off duty time, and safe behaviour on the road.
- Fail and you wait at least seven days, then book and pay again.
- You need two years of Class 5 experience, fewer than four demerit points and a medical report with an eye test.
- The F endorsement for air brakes is a separate test you can book at the same time.
- The SAAQ does not publish a minimum age for Class 3, so we do not state one.

- Every figure on this page is traced to Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ)
- Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
- Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back
Practice for this test is still being written. The format above is the real one.
What the questions cover
Every Quebec question sits under one subject, and the number beside it is how many we hold. The reading column goes to the lesson behind the subject.
| Subject | Questions | Reading |
|---|---|---|
| Road signs | 20 | The lesson behind it |
| Emergencies and breakdowns | 6 | The lesson behind it |
| Intersections and turns | 5 | The lesson behind it |
| Speed and following distance | 5 | The lesson behind it |
| Sharing the road | 4 | The lesson behind it |
| Weather and night driving | 4 | The lesson behind it |
| Passing and lanes | 3 | The lesson behind it |
| Documents, fines and demerit points | 3 | The lesson behind it |
| Parking and stopping | 2 | The lesson behind it |
| Licensing and the graduated system | 2 | The lesson behind it |
| Right of way | 1 | The lesson behind it |
How the Class 3 knowledge test passes
Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish a question count or a pass mark for the Class 3 knowledge test, so there is no threshold to draw here. What it does publish is on the page above.
Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.
What Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish
These are the fields the licensing body leaves out. They stay blank here rather than being filled with another province's number or with an estimate.
- No published figure for the question count.
- No published figure for the pass mark.
A run built on a missing length draws the whole bank instead of guessing at one, and the panel before the first question says so.
Reading for the Class 3 knowledge test
The lessons carry the rule, the guides carry the longer answer, and both end with the note that changes the answer in Quebec.
ReadThe 11 study lessons
Written for Quebec
ReadHow the SAAQ process works: the course, the wait and the exam
Quebec
Questions people ask about this test
When can I take the SAAQ knowledge test?
After you have held your learner licence for 10 months. The wait is part of the design, not a booking backlog, so there is no way to bring it forward.
SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27What does the SAAQ knowledge test cost?
About $11.20, the smallest knowledge test fee among the four provinces we cover in depth.
SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27Why does Quebec take longer than other provinces?
Two rules stack up. The mandatory course sets the pace at the start, and the knowledge test only opens 10 months into the learner licence. Newcomers who were licensed elsewhere in Canada are often surprised by both.
SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27Sources for this page
Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.
SAAQ, Truck Driver's Licence (Class 3)
Verified 2026-08-28
Read through an Internet Archive copy of the SAAQ page captured on 2026-08-13, because the SAAQ turns away visitors from outside Canada. The French page is cited because it is the version the SAAQ updates first.
SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test information
Verified 2026-08-27