DriveTest Canada
  • Checked against Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) on 2026-08-28
  • Every figure below names the record it came from

SAAQ Class 2 bus knowledge test

Class 2 knowledge test at a glance

Question count
Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) publishes no count
Not published by the licensing body
Pass mark
Not published as a number of questions
Not published by the licensing body
Fee
$13.50 for the knowledge test, plus $88.35 for the 18 month learner licence
Retake fee
Not stated in the record we hold
Minimum age
Not stated in the record we hold
Where it is taken
At a licensing office or testing centre
SAAQ, Licence to Drive a Bus With a Seating Capacity of More Than 24 Passengers (Class 2)verified 2026-08-28

The format above is the one Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) sets, and it is on the page before anything else, because the numbers are what you plan around. Every row carries the record it was read from and the date it was checked.

  • Class 2 covers a bus built to seat more than 24 passengers.
  • The same shape as Class 1. Seventy five percent to pass, no published question count, about an hour, and at least seven days before a retake.
  • You need a Class 5 licence held for two years, fewer than four demerit points and a medical report with an eye exam.
  • After you pass you hold the learner licence for at least three months before the road tests. That drops to one month if you are 25 or older, have 60 months of Class 5 experience or already hold Class 3.
  • School transport asks for a certificate of competence on top, from one of the two training centres the SAAQ names.
  • The F endorsement for air brakes is a separate test you can book alongside it.
  • The SAAQ does not publish a minimum age for Class 2, so we do not state one.
An unmarked tractor trailer in profile from a low angle on a prairie highway shoulder at first light, casting a long shadow across the road.
  • Every figure on this page is traced to Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ)
  • Free to sit, with no account and nothing held back until you pay
  • Every run free, with the whole bank open and no part held back

Practice for this test is still being written. The format above is the real one.

What the questions cover

Every Quebec question sits under one subject, and the number beside it is how many we hold. The reading column goes to the lesson behind the subject.

SubjectQuestionsReading
Road signs20The lesson behind it
Emergencies and breakdowns6The lesson behind it
Intersections and turns5The lesson behind it
Speed and following distance5The lesson behind it
Sharing the road4The lesson behind it
Weather and night driving4The lesson behind it
Passing and lanes3The lesson behind it
Documents, fines and demerit points3The lesson behind it
Parking and stopping2The lesson behind it
Licensing and the graduated system2The lesson behind it
Right of way1The lesson behind it

How the Class 2 knowledge test passes

Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish a question count or a pass mark for the Class 2 knowledge test, so there is no threshold to draw here. What it does publish is on the page above.

Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.

What Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) does not publish

These are the fields the licensing body leaves out. They stay blank here rather than being filled with another province's number or with an estimate.

  • No published figure for the question count.
  • No published figure for the pass mark.

A run built on a missing length draws the whole bank instead of guessing at one, and the panel before the first question says so.

Questions people ask about this test

When can I take the SAAQ knowledge test?

After you have held your learner licence for 10 months. The wait is part of the design, not a booking backlog, so there is no way to bring it forward.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
What does the SAAQ knowledge test cost?

About $11.20, the smallest knowledge test fee among the four provinces we cover in depth.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27
Why does Quebec take longer than other provinces?

Two rules stack up. The mandatory course sets the pace at the start, and the knowledge test only opens 10 months into the learner licence. Newcomers who were licensed elsewhere in Canada are often surprised by both.

SAAQ published licensing, driving course and knowledge test informationverified 2026-08-27

Sources for this page

Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.