- Checked against Driver and Vehicle Services, Department of Infrastructure on 2026-09-15
- Every figure below names the record it came from
Northwest Territories Class 7 written examination
NWT drivers test at a glance
- Question count
- 40
- Pass mark
- 16 of 20 in rules of the road and 16 of 20 in road signs
- Time limit
- 30 minutes
- Fee
- $47 for the Class 7 written examination, including the signs test
- Minimum age
- 15
To pass the NWT drivers test, you need 16 correct out of 20 in rules of the road and 16 correct out of 20 in road signs. The NWT drivers test has 40 questions and a 30-minute time limit. The fee is $47 for the Class 7 written examination, including the signs test.
- The examination has 20 multiple-choice road-rules questions and a separate 20-question road-signage test. You may miss no more than 4 questions in either test.
- The time limit is 30 minutes. The official page does not state which test languages are available.
- First-time licence service is in person. You can book, pay, cancel or rebook a written examination online, but the official pages do not say that the examination itself is online.
- Bring the completed application, proof of legal name and date of birth, acceptable photo identification and proof of Northwest Territories residency.
- A vision screening is required for the learner licence. Study the Basic Handbook, also called the NWT Basic Driver's Manual and Driver's Manual.
- After a failed examination, schedule and pay for a new test. The official page does not state a retake wait or separate retake fee.
- The displayed fee is $47. Applicants aged 60 or older pay $17. The same page lists $47 for a Class 5 or 6 practical examination.
- A learner needs a supervisor who has held a full Class 5 licence for at least 24 months. No driving is allowed from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m., and no passenger other than the supervisor is allowed.
- The learner and supervisor must have zero blood alcohol. A learner must stay below 6 demerit points.

- Every figure on this page is traced to Driver and Vehicle Services, Department of Infrastructure
- Official records for the NWT drivers test are linked below
- No practice bank is published for this test here
This site does not have a practice run for the NWT drivers test. Read Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Driver's Manual for official test information. The knowledge test study guide explains how to use the official material.
How the NWT drivers test passes
The real test is 40 questions with a 30 minute limit.
It splits into 20 questions on rules of the road and 20 questions on road signs.
You need 16 of 20 in rules of the road and 16 of 20 in road signs, and each section is scored on its own, so a strong score in one cannot rescue a weak score in the other.
You can sit it from age 15.
Fees and rules change, so check the record itself before you pay for anything. The date beside each figure is the day we last read it.
Road rules testYou need 16 of 20 correct
Pass mark
Road signage testYou need 16 of 20 correct
Pass mark
Reading for the NWT drivers test
The lessons carry the rule, the guides carry the longer answer, and both end with the note that changes the answer in Northwest Territories.
ReadRight of way, and the cases people get wrong
Rules of the road
ReadRoundabouts, lane by lane
Rules of the road
ReadRoad sign shapes and colours, and how to read a sign you have never seen
Signs
Questions people ask about this test
How many questions are on the NWT drivers test?
There are 20 road-rules questions and 20 separate road-sign questions, for 40 questions in all.
Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Written and practical examinationsverified 2026-09-15What is the pass mark for the NWT drivers test?
You may miss no more than 4 questions in either 20-question test, so you need at least 16 correct on each.
Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Written and practical examinationsverified 2026-09-15Can I take the NWT drivers test online?
The examination can be booked and paid online, but the official pages do not say the test itself is online. First-time licence service is in person.
Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Get a driver licence for the first timeverified 2026-09-15Sources for this page
Each record below is where a number on this page comes from, with the date it was last checked against it.
Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Written and practical examinations
Verified 2026-09-15
The rendered official page shows the current $47 fee. An older hidden $44 list in the page source was not used.
Northwest Territories Driver and Vehicle Services, Driver's Manual
Verified 2026-09-15